Main navigation

Staff Directory

  • Reset
Thomas Roen

Roen, Thomas

Teacher

trroen@seattleschools.org

Ross, Katie

(she/her) Special Education Assistant

klross@seattleschools.org
Emma Sanders

Sanders, Emma

(she/her) Physical/Health Education Teacher

ejsanders@seattleschools.org

Sayler, Luke

Special Education Assistant/ISE

ljsayler@seattleschools.org

Scally, Yasmina

Counselor & 504 Building Coordinator (she/her) - 6th Grade

yhscally@seattleschools.org
Emily Schaefer

Schaefer, Emily

(she/her) Teacher-Orchestra

ecschaefer@seattleschools.org

Biography

Teacher-Orchestra

Ann Schlossman

Schlossman, Ann

Special Education Instructional Assistant/ Advisory She/Her

amschlossman@seattleschools.org

Schwank, Lisa

School Nurse

lmschwank@seattleschools.org
William Segall

Segall, William

(he/him) Teacher - 7th grade World History & WA State

wjsegall@seattleschools.org

Biography

In W.H Auden’s words, “simply put, history is the study of questions.” However, the effective use of the Socratic approach requires craft, creativity and ingenuity to create a classroom structures where students own their own education and pursue inquiry-based learning. I strive to inspire students to develop an understanding of the complexities of a historical situation and to debate the issues surrounding an event. In my 26 years of teaching world history, geography and international literature, I have taught in South Africa, India, Iraq, Chicago, and Seattle since 2001. Over the years, I have moved away from textbooks as the major resource for learning. I now include primary documents, classics books, and post-colonial theorists whose ideas can be debated to stimulate student involvement and create a dynamic classroom. I have tried to make my classroom as a place that builds energy and enthusiasm. Scanning the room, you would see colorful maps and carpets of the Middle East adorning the walls, Islamic, Jewish and Christian prayer hats and beads, laminated currency from Jordan, Syria, Iraq, and pictures and essays of student work. During the first week of school, students remove their shoes at the door, and we sit on my Kurdish carpets, drink tea and eat flat bread. I share with them lessons in Mediterranean hospitality as I relate stories of Bedouin life in Jordan and of Syriac Orthodox monasteries near Mt. Ararat. My passion for teaching about this region of the world is to help my students gain an accurate picture of the diversity of the Middle East and challenge student’s misconceptions of this rich history. In my teaching tenure, my desire to learn about the “other” has led me to more than 60 countries. To be an effective social studies teacher, I believe in the use of an interdisciplinary approach that combines History, English and Religion. I believe that a teacher who is both passionate and knowledgeable about the ideas and concept can best guide students to become better writers, thinkers and ultimately more concerned citizens. This is what I bring to the classroom! Will complete my Ed.D course work at Seattle Pacific University’s graduate school during the summer of 2020– allowing me to enrich my story-telling ability and enhance my skills as an educator.

Stephanie Shapiro

Shapiro, Stephanie

(She/Her) Teacher - 7th Grade English Language Arts/ELA

sashapiro@seattleschools.org

Sharp, Amanda

Speech Language Pathologist

amsharp1@seattleschools.org
Erik Siehl

Siehl, Erik

Bilingual Services Teacher

ejsiehl@seattleschools.org

Personal Message

Hello! My name is Erik Siehl. I have taught English to bilingual students since 2003, and I have worked at Jane Addams since 2016.

I have taught at the middle school, high school, and university levels. When I'm not teaching, I enjoy reading, cycling, climbing, and skiing.

Have a great year, everyone! Please contact me if there's anything I can do to help.

Singh, Davinder

Custodian

dasingh@seattleschools.org
Ross Taylor

Taylor, Ross

(he/him) Teacher - 6th and 7th Grade Science

rataylor1@seattleschools.org
Sara Taylor

Taylor, Sara

(she/her) Distinct Special Education Teacher

sdtaylor@seattleschools.org
Laura Tiberio

Tiberio, Laura

(she/her) Teacher- 6th Grade Science

ljtiberio@seattleschools.org

Van More, Leah

(she/her) 8th Grade Science and STEM Teacher

levanmore@seattleschools.org
Jenna Velozo

Velozo, Jenna

[she/her] Teacher - Math 6/Math 6 Empowerment; Math Department Chair

jnvelozo@seattleschools.org
Sandy VonHeeder

VonHeeder, Sandy

(she/her) Speech Language Pathologist

sjvonheeder@seattleschools.org
Lauren Walsh

Walsh, Lauren

SM1 (Resource) Special Education Teacher

ltwalsh@seattleschools.org