FOJAM - Music Booster Club

FOJAM (Friends of Jane Addams Music) - Music Booster Club

Friends Of Jane Addams Music (FOJAM) is a non-profit organization dedicated to supporting the outreach and growth of music education at Jane Addams Middle School (JAMS), Seattle WA. As a 5013c, FOJAM is a volunteer run organization primarily responsible for fundraising, and operational support of the music program at JAMS including concert operations, instrument and music purchases, and related music director and school initiatives.

Your donations provide:

  • Sheet music for all ensembles
  • Festival performance fee supplements
  • Additional instrument purchases and repairs
  • Financial assistance for students including private music lessons and festival/travel fees
  • Professional development stipends
  • Director support
  • Ensemble instruction
  • Guest artists Music director supply grants

Visit http://www.fojam.org for more information and resources.


Get Involved!

FOJAM depends on volunteers. If you’d like to ensure high-equality music opportunities for your child at JAMS, and collaborate with other dedicated parents and our stellar music staff, please contact us at info@fojam.org. Let’s keep our momentum and cement JAMS Music as a leading program!


Course Offerings

All music classes are yearlong. Placement is based on audition and/or SPS teacher recommendations.

JAMS offers five levels of Orchestra:

  1. Beginning
  2. Intermediate
  3. Junior
  4. Senior
  5. Chamber Orchestra

Five levels of Band:

  1. Beginning
  2. Intermediate
  3. Junior
  4. Senior Band
  5. Senior Jazz

Two levels of Vocal Ensembles:

  1. Choir
  2. Advanced Choir

*Junior Jazz is an after school class for beginning jazz musicians who already have some instrumental experience. More information on elective courses may be found here.


Contact Info

Friends of Jane Addams Music (FOJAM)
P.O. BOX 27497
Seattle, WA 98165
http://www.fojam.org


Board Members for 2015-16:

Co-President: Catherine Peng | president@fojam.org
Co-President: Karen Bullard | president@fojam.org
Vice president (Concert Operations): Dave Coble | vicepresident@fojam.org
Treasurer: John Matsumoto | treasurer@fojam.org
Secretary: Suzie Rinne| secretary@fojam.org
Fundraising Chair: Heather Sanchez | fundraising@fojam.org
Communication Chair: Matt Brady | info@fojam.org
Volunteer Coordination Chair: Wei Cheng | volunteers@fojam.org


JAMS Music Staff:

Music Department Head / Band Director, Deb Schaaf, deschaaf@seattleschools.org or phone 252-4527
Orchestra Director, Emily Schaefer, ecschaefer@seattleschools.org or phone 252-4529
Choir Director, Alex Gagiu, acgagiu@seattleschools.org or phone 252-4513
Beginning Band Director, Katrina Sibicky, kgsibicky@seattleschools.org or Phone 252-0450 Ext.98765

back to top

© Seattle Public SchoolsWebsite by SchoolMessenger Presence opens a new window. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.